See more videos for Soccer Referee Hit By Ball
If the ball hits the referee during a soccer match, then the game will stop under most scenarios and the team who touched the ball last wins a drop ball. If the referee touches the ball inside one of the penalty areas however, then the ball is given to the defensive team’s goalkeeper.
Another one of those compilation packages that seem to appear everywhere on YouTube. And who wouldn't want to see a referee making a bit of a tit of himself?...
The incident occurred when Manuel Neuer’s misdirected clearance struck the Hungarian referee Viktor Kassai, which ended in the ball ballooning up towards the German box.
New in high school soccer for the 2020-21 school year, when a ball touches the referee which leads to a promising attack, the referee must blow his whistle to stop play and start with a Drop Ball. He should ALSO give a Drop Ball in two other instances: when the ball hits the official and possession changes or when a ball hits the official and goes into the goal.
More Soccer Referee Hit By Ball images
The laws changed this season regarding a referee's inadvertent contract with the ball, if the referee gets hit by the ball play is stopped. The game continues with an uncontested drop ball from where the referee interfered with the progress of the ball with the team in possession at the time of the contract retaining possession if the contract was made outside the penalty box.
FIFA considers referees to be part of the field of play, so balls that touch them are still in play. The official wording from FIFA is: "If, when the ball is in play, it touches the referee ...
The referee is a part of the field, and thus if the ball hits the referee, it’s as if it hit any other part of the field, the goal posts, or the corner flag. In this instance, the ball remains in play (unless it deflects off the referee and out of play), and play continues. What might/could have happened if the ball didn’t hit